Founder and Chairman

Anindya Novyan Bakrie is an Indonesian business magnate, global investor and prominent philanthropist. Through his business community leadership roles over the years, He represents Indonesia and Indo-Pacific business community voices in global fora and summits.

He is the founder and Chairman of Bakrie Center Foundation (BCF) a philanthropic organization which supports Indonesia’s best and brightest to study at leading universities at home and abroad through its scholarship programs. It has also taken the lead in developing regional insights by establishing endowment funds at leading think tanks in the world. The BCF achieved a milestones on 26th July 2010 with the establishment of the Bakrie Chair for Southeast Asian Studies at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace in Washington DC; and on 18th November 2010 launched  the Bakrie Professorship in Southeast Asia Policy at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies at the Nanyang Technological University in Singapore, which saw a matching fund from the Singapore government. In Indonesia, the BCF has scholarship agreements with 11 Universities.

He also serves as the CEO of Bakrie & Brothers (BNBR) an Indonesian listed conglomerate with interests in infrastructure, electric vehicle, mining, oil & gas, power (incl. renewables and solar), property, and plantations. He is also the successor to the 80-year-old Bakrie group, one of the largest business groups growing with and for Indonesia, with 10 companies listed on the Indonesia Stock Exchange with a combined market capitalization of over US$15 billion.

He serves as the Chairman of Supervisory Board (2021-2025) at Indonesia Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KADIN) which is the statutory body of business organisations in Indonesia representing 34 provincial KADIN and +100 thousand businesses nationwide. He also serves as the Chairman of APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC) Indonesia (appointed by two different Indonesian President) – established by APEC in 1995 as the official private sector arm to drive the regional economic cooperation. Through his leadership, ABAC Indonesia initiated the first Indonesia Impact Fund (IIF). Additionally, he is the elected Chairman of the Indonesian Aquatics Federation (PRSI).

He joined the board of director at Oxford United Football Club since 2018 as he led the takeover of majority ownership of the club to be one of the first Indonesian majority owned English football club. As a global investor, he is pivoting the Group onto sustainable and digital investments in Electric Vehicle, Batteries, Renewables (mainly Solar PV), Prefab housing as well as Fintech and other emerging technologies.

He graduated from Northwestern University in 1996 as an industrial engineer and earned his MBA from Stanford Graduate School of Business in 2001. He started his career in Wall Street as an Investment Banker at Salomon Brothers in its New York office.

After returning from the US, he founded VIVA Group, which owns tvOne (#1 News/Sports nationwide broadcaster) and ANTV (tier 1 entertainment nationwide broadcaster). In total, VIVA Group has a direct reach to over 200 million people nationwide. After 17 years of focusing in TMT sector, Anindya joined the Bakrie Group in 2017 to embed innovation & change to the Group.

He has passions in bringing the world to Indonesia as well as bringing Indonesia to the global stage with renewed momentum in this decade to deliver. As a pioneer in Indonesia’s EV Heavy Mobility industry, he is on a strong trajectory to pivot Bakrie Group towards sustainable and digital businesses, leveraging the strengths of Bakrie’s industrials and manufacturing.

The Founder Members

Ibu Roosniah Bakrie
Bapak H. Aburizal Bakrie
Ibu Tatty A. Bakrie
Bapak Bus S. Kusmuljono
Ibu Roosmania Kusmuljono
Bapak Nirwan Dermawan Bakrie
Ibu Ratna Indira Bakrie
Bapak Indra Usmansjah Bakrie
Ibu Gaby Manon Bakrie

The Board of Trustees

Adhika Nuraga Bakrie
Adhika Andrayudha Bakrie
Adhika Aryasthana Bakrie
Adinda A. Bakrie
Aninditha Anestya Bakrie
Anindra Ardiansyah Bakrie
Firdiani Saugi Bakrie
Hendaryanto Marta Sakti
Intania Karunia T.D. Bakrie
Laila Asih Trifina
Nadia Nuryoka Widayati
Ong Seng Hoo
Ramadhania Bakrie
Resza Adikreshna
R.M. Harlin Erlianto Rahardjo
Shahla Rooswita Rahardjo
Syailendra S. Bakrie
Taufan E. Nugroho Rotorasiko

Executive Board

Imbang J Mangkuto, Chief Executive Officer
Ahmad Rahadian Widarmana, Chief Financial Officer

Honorable Advisers

Professor Bertil Andersson, President-designate Nanyang Technological University., Chairman of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry, 1989-1997.  Singapore.
Douglas H. Paal, Vice President for Studies, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.  DC. USA
Marie Mookini, Director Sloan Program, Graduate School of Business, Stanford University.  CA. USA.
Leonard C. Sebastian, Associate Professor, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Nanyang Technological University. Singapore.
Professor Ir. MSc. Sofia W. Alisjahbana, Rector University of Bakrie.  Jakarta, Indonesia.
Professor Dr. H. Ir. Musliar Kasim, MS., Rector University of Andalas. West Sumatra, Indonesia.
Professor Dr. Balthasar Kambuaya, MBA., Rector University of Cendrawasih. Papua, Indonesia.
Professor Dr. dr Idrus A Paturusi, University of Hasanuddin. South Sulawesi, Indonesia.
Professor Dr. dr I Made Bakta, Sp. PD ( Khom)., University of Udayana. Bali, Indonesia.
Professor Akhmaloka, PhD., Bandung Institute of Techonology. West Java, Indonesia.
Professor Dr. Ir. Sugeng P. Harianto, MS., University of Lampung.  Lampung, Indonesia.
Professor Dr. H Zamruddin Hasid, SE, SU., University of Mulawarman.  East Kalimantan, Indonesia.
Professor Sudjarwadi, M. Eng, PhD., University of Gadjah Mada.  Jogyakarta, Indonesia.
Professor Dr. Ir. Herry Sunardiyanto M.Sc., Bogor Agricultural University
Professor Dr. Donald A. Rumokoy, SH, MH. , University of Sam Ratulangi.  North Sulawesi, Indonesia.
Professor Dr H. Fasich, Apt., University of Airlangga.  East Java, Indonesia.

Leave a Reply